

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (SPECIAL) MINUTES

16 JANUARY 2020

Chair:	* Councillor Natasha Pro	octor
Councillors:	 Christopher Baxter Michael Borio Sarah Butterworth Ramji Chauhan Pamela Fitzpatrick Dean Gilligan Chetna Halai 	 * Maxine Henson John Hinkley * Nitesh Hirani (1) * Kairul Kareema Marikar (4) * Primesh Patel Kanti Rabadia Stephen Wright
In attendance: (Councillors)	Keith Ferry Paul Osborn	Minute 19 Minute 19

* Denotes Member present

(1) and (4) Denote category of Reserve Members

17. Attendance by Reserve Members

RESOLVED: To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

Ordinary Member	Reserve Member	
Councillor Amir Moshenson	Councillor Nitesh Hirani	
Councillor Angella Murphy-Strachan	Councillor Kairul Marikar	

18. Declarations of Interest

RESOLVED: To note that the following interests were declared:

Agenda Item 3 – Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

Councillor Ramji Chauhan declared a non-pecuniary interest in that he was a Councillor in the Harrow Weald ward which could potentially involve changing polling stations. He would remain in the room whilst the matter was considered and voted upon.

RESOLVED ITEMS

19. Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

The Committee received a report of the Director of Legal and Governance Services which set out the outcomes reached by the Working Group, established to ensure the Council met its statutory obligation to conduct a review of its polling districts and polling places.

Councillor Keith Ferry, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Regeneration, Planning and Employment introduced the report and explained that he had been appointed the Chair of the Working Group. The Working Group had operated on a cross party basis and had concluded that there was no reason to alter the existing arrangements. The Working Group would now commence work on the new polling districts and polling places which are due to come into force in May 2022. This would be an extensive piece of work but it was anticipated that this would be concluded at the end of this year.

Councillor Paul Osborn, Leader of the Conservative Group, explained that he was also a member of the Working Group and confirmed that the conclusions had been reached on a cross party basis. The recommendations would ensure that the same arrangements would be in place for the Greater London Authority Elections in May 2020, which was the last scheduled election before 2022. The Working Group would now start from scratch in relation to the new arrangements.

RESOLVED: That

- the recommendations of the Working Group in relation to the individual polling districts and polling places for all future elections up to 2022 be approved;
- (2) it be noted that following publication of the final recommendations of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), work will now commence on the future polling district and polling places arrangements which will come into effect in May 2022.
- (Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.02 pm, closed at 6.08 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR NATASHA PROCTOR Chair